IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

A hike up Knocknadobar

The mountain of Knocknadobar towers over the harbour at Coonanna, just a few miles along the coast from the cottage. A waymarked Pilgrim’s Path rises up from a car park near the harbour, and on the way up you pass the thirteen stations of the cross.
I haven’t walked this for many years, but after a showery start to the day it turned out pretty fair and on the way in to Cahersiveen I changed my plans and headed for the foot of the mountain.
My head was half full of the book I am halfway through re-reading, “The Third Policeman” by Flann O’ Brien, an Irish civil servant with a taste for the delightfully ridiculous. If you have missed out on this, I can recommend it: it is a singularly eccentric and uniquely Irish tale in a comedic magico-realist genre. So on the way up the mountain, in between the travails of the Saviour on his last days I was looking out for leprechauns and sprites and ascertaining the colours of the wind (perhaps you didn’t know that winds from different directions have specific colours? I only just discovered this myself but the mystical 3rd policeman has the gift of reading them).
The views from the mountain are marvellous and I was lucky to have a reasonably clear sky for much of the way up. At one point I saw a squall coming in across Dingle Bay, but had plenty of time to whip on my rain gear and hide my camera safely before it arrived.
It was a good old way to the top but you are rewarded with remarkable views in three directions, towards Dingle and the Blaskets, Killelan and Valencia, and Cahersiveen and the Carhan valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.