Bevosity

By bevwestwood

Catchphrase Challenge #1

My first entry and surely an easy one!

A really beautiful, if a bit chilly, day today so decided to take a trip down to Minsmere. I knew that they had some family events on today including a demonstration of bird ringing (which always brings a very entertaining image to mind!)

As I headed out to the North Hide I met a man coming in the opposite direction holding a cloth bag clearly with a bird in it. He very kindly took it out to allow me a sneak preview before he headed off to the demonstration place.

Who would have thought that such beautiful song comes from such a tiny bird? Yes, it's a Nightingale. Just look at that eye!

So that was a good start. I then heard my first Chiffchaff of the year so Spring is definitely sprung. The reserve was looking its best in the sunshine and it really showed the birds well, especially the white ones like the gulls and the iconic Avocet. However, the star for me (apart from the Nightingale that is) was the Lapwing doing its courtship display outside the hide. Fabulous aerobatics and that haunting call.

Then headed off to the Bittern Hide. Not a lot to see from there really but a Marsh Harrier did pose very fetchingly on a post and a Garganey flew in. With it being a family weekend there were lots of children about and the hide was soon invaded (that is the best word for it) by a guided group so ended up doing my teacher bit. Not sure the 'I-have-a-big-lens-and-am-a-serious-birder' brigade were too impressed!

Called in at the ringing demo on the way back to the visitor centre. Fascinating even though the 3 birds I saw all had rings already and were Chaffinches!! Great to see them close up though.

Back at home now with the back door open and listening to Chaffinches singing along with Blackbirds, Blue Tits and Great Tits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.