The day has been frittered away

Don't you just hate it when you waste a whole day doing practically nothing?


This morning I went on a big long walk because Ann wanted to plan a route for my walk next Friday. Next Friday Ann is going out in the afternoon to celebrate the Queen's Platinum Jubilee. Celebrating the Queen's Platinum Jubilee will involve drinking lots of Prosecco and she's not really sure how long she's going to be out for, so she wants to walk me for 2-3 hours in the morning because she certainly won't have the energy or the inclination to take me on a big long walk when she gets home!!


This mornings walk took us through the Hermitage, up onto the Braid Hills, through the fields at Mortonhall, down the secret path and through Braidburn Valley Park. I had a lovely long walk. And so did Ann.


And then it all went down hill?! When we got home, I ate my breakfast (which I hadn't eaten at breakfast time) and Ann had lunch. And then she started to feel really ill – sore throat, headache, aching all over and very cold. She said, 'Trixie, I really don't feel very well. I'm going to bed for a couple of hours.' So that is what she did. She didn't even bother taking her clothes off. She just climbed into bed fully dressed. Normally I would never, ever be allowed on the bed but this afternoon I jumped up onto the bottom of the bed, curled up and went to sleep so that I could keep an eye on my human. She must have been ill because she didn't even attempt to make me move.


After a couple of hours she got up, made a chilli (so that all she has to do later is heat it up) and then she took me for a 15min walk. That wore her out so she had to have another little snooze on the sofa.


Mmmmmmm..................... she's helping me write my Blip now but is thinking maybe she should take a COVID test? She's still got a stash of two and a half boxes so maybe it's a good idea.


As for me, I'm back in my bed having another little snooze. My walk this morning was about two and a half hours long and it has worn me out. Which is good. If we do the same walk on Friday I'll be more than happy to have home alone snooze time while Ann drinks gallons of Prosecco to celebrate the Queens Platinum Jubilee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.