As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

The Notorious B.L.O.

#cougarinvite

7:45 bus this morning to JFK for the Cougar Invitational. We got there around 8:30 and started warming up. I ran in the unseeded mile and ended up coming in 2nd with a time of 4:51. I'm pretty happy with that, and I got a medal!

Right as I came off the line, Frazer called me over. She said that I lacked the fire necessary to push myself to race harder, and today was the day that was going to change. She was putting me in a race where I needed that killer instinct to survive.

Her and a bunch of the boys began snickering as she pulled out a number that had "Cougar 3200" on the back of it. The Cougar 3200 is a special race: it's an elimination race. Nine competitors begin, and by the last lap, only two are left on the track. At the end of every lap, the person in last place is pulled off and eliminated from the race.

So now I'm being thrown into the most competitive race I've ever encountered, with eight other people that want to win. It was stressful.

On top of that, I knew I couldn't be the first one out. If I was, I'd never live it down.

So the team filled out an info sheet for me (a.k.a. The Notorious B.L.O.) and gave it to DJ Van Der Blotten. Some of the things it included were:
1) He was People Magazine's Sexiest Man of 2003
2) He has more freckles than the bible has verses
3) Mike Grady, will you go to prom with me?
And a few other things I can't remember. I also can't remember the song they had me walk out too, but I'm sure it was hilarious.

I was seeded ninth, so things already weren't looking too good. My first lap was 63 (insane!) and I ended up only getting pulled off after finishing four laps. I ran a 5:09 mile. Not too shabby considering the circumstances.

I probably could have stayed in one more lap, but I knew I would just get out next and I figured the mile was a nice place to stop. Unfortunately, Frazer overheard me saying that, and as punishment for not pushing myself until the end, she put me in the 2400 anyway-you-want-it relay. I ran a 2:21 800 in it, and our team (me, Pat, Timmy, and JG3) did pretty well.

LINDSEY AND ALYSSA ARE SO AWESOME FOR COMING TO THE MEET TO SUPPORT WANTAGH. YOU TWO ROCK!

Around 3:00, I finally got to stop running and eat my sandwich.

I got home from the meet a little before 4:00, showered, and then went to Molloy for my cello lesson.

Home for the night and not feeling too hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.