Legacy

By Legacy

Off We Go.....

.....into the wild blue yonder, flying high into the sky!

I spent a couple of hours this morning at the Heritage Flight Museum at the Bellingham International Airport. Once a month the museum has a "flyday" in addition to their regular static displays. Today they fired up a couple planes I didn't recognize but also a couple of my favorites a P-51 Mustang and a Douglas A-1 Skyraider. While waiting for the planes to take off I found this little fellow "piloting" a miniature Mustang.

In June the museum plans a Warbird Weekend. It's actually on my birthday but I doubt that they planned it that way. I don't think they know that I'm a warbird nut. My husband was a lot worse than I am. My favorite plane is the Corsair -- his was just about any vintage airplane.

When I go to things like this it's always a bittersweet experience. I miss my husband so much because we used to have such a good time at events like this. I left the airport today in tears and ended up at my dear friend Marilyn's house where she gave me a hug and a cup of tea. It's just part of life I guess, these ups and downs. I've always said, and truly believe, that I would rather have these moments of extreme pain and sadness than never to have had the happiness I had with him.

I'll gear up for Warbird Weekend and maybe, just maybe they'll have a Corsair in the air. If that doesn't make me smile there's no hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.