Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2022 Tuesday — Meatloaf

Originally there were three loaves in this pan. I pulled this hot Pyrex from the oven and with lightning speed delivered one loaf to our dining table that was already prepared with plates, forks, knives, and spoons, plus fresh steamed asparagus and two plump baked potatoes.

After a prayer of thanks, we were quickly acknowledging the flavor that was a lovely confirmation of the savory aroma that had been teasing our noses for the previous 45+ minutes.

That same aroma was obviously messing with Chloe and Mitzi too, so just before taking our meal out of the oven, I opened a can of tuna that would enhance their kibble. If I can remember and if I can manage to feed them before feeding us, my meal is so much more enjoyable. Four eyes staring at me while I eat is never as relaxing as two pups snoozing at my feet.

I get lots of mileage from one batch of meatloaf: we enjoy two evening meals (hooray, less kitchen time) and at least one lunchtime of yummy sandwiches.

The reason for the bread in the Pyrex pan is simply that if I don’t place it there as a foundation, the loaves crumble into pieces. That is a trick I learned years ago and I now do this every time.

From California’s Central Coast
in Cayucos,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too

P.S. Another construction person came to assess our yard today. Improving our upslope backyard is a desire we are slowly burning with. I continue to tell myself that part of the fun is in the dreaming, the planning, and not just the accomplishment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.