The Knitted Bus Stop Crown, East Malling

My final day at my workplace before six days off (hurrah and thrice hurrah!) but I had an even longer walk to work this morning. As it has got closer to the Jubilee celebrations themselves more and more of the environs surrounding Buckingham Palace have been cordoned off for security reasons. Today I had to do a massive detour through St. James' Park, Green Park, Piccadilly and then on to Bond Street - it must have added a good fifteen minutes or so to my normal journey.
 London has gone fully mad with the Union Jack flags. Thousands of them are flying all the way along Regent Street, Oxford Street and throughout the West End. Combine this with the half term school holiday and Central London was heaving with a slightly giddy fervour.
I must admit I was glad to get home and off the train. My brother picked me up and we headed straight to the King & Queen in East Malling for a cold pint sitting outside in it's lovely garden - bliss! On the post box opposite (with the old school bus stop behind it) was this splendid knitted crown. I loved it's jaunty angle and how it glowed in the evening sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.