70 years ago…Coronation souvenirs

I eventually found the tin from my parents house. It is rather battered and contained the little coronation coach and horses as well as several sets of ‘Jacks’ which I played lots when at secondary school and I had forgotten about.
The tin originally contained Wilkin’s Toffees made in Newcastle upon Tyne. The tin was also made in England by the Metal Box Co. In Carlisle. Net weight 1lb including immediate wrappings. On the outside there are also representations  of England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland…Rose, thistle, daffodil and shamrock.

I have recently bought some Platinum Jubilee souvenir tins of shortbread biscuits from M & S to give to my grandchildren. I wonder if they will still have them in 70 years time?!

Watching the Trooping of the colour was a great spectacle and good to see the Queen looking so happy particularly during the fly past. I saw a few of the planes out of our window…Not the red arrows but some of the older ones that I think must have been flying back to a base in the south coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.