Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Spooky Croft

Last day on Lewis and it started bright, warm and sunny. I had my morning cuppa sat on the doorstep, reading my book and looking out over the loch.

H2 popped into Stornoway to buy supplies for the boys who were arriving in the croft as we left so I grabbed the camera and headed for the Spooky Croft down the road.

I spent a happy half hour or so taking photos of this place and some of the interior shots will go on 500px or flickr, but this one sums it up for me. So sad to see such a lovely croft left to rot and it was creepy to see furniture still insided, light fittings hanging from the ceiling and the tattered remains of curtains still hanging at the windows. I only ventured a little way inside as the floors had gone through in a few places. I'm not easily spooked, but there was something very eerie about the place.

This shot is pretty much straight from the camera, with the polarizing filter and ND filter working nicely :-)

After lunch, Sarah and I headed off for a walk up the hill across from the croft. I learned that whilst Sarah is insanely fit, I'm not and walking on paths (even up steep bits) is very different from bouncing across peat bogs and scrabbling up tufty stuff and "haggissing" around the side of steep slopes. I wussed out before reaching the end and pootled back to Foxy, via the edge of the loch to wait for Sarah. Glad I did it but I think I'll stick to more sedate routes in future and leave the hard core stuff to people like Sarah.

Better bigger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.