Excellent Ennerdale

Today was the last day of our 7-days over 5 weeks volunteer training program*, so I really didn't want to cancel....
In the end I figured having a potentially limited participant (me) would be good for A & C who had planned and organised the walk. We met in a new-to-me cafe, The Gather in Ennerdale Bridge (what a find, superb, highly recommended) and they talked me through their plan, their options A-D and how they intended to lead the walk - I was genuinely impressed.
We headed out and changed to plan B due to bank holiday road chaos, and then had a gentle amble - the ankle felt surprisingly OK** and we had a fabulous time.

*This has been a sort of trial of a program we'd like to eventually roll out to community groups so that they can set up their own Wellness Walk programs. These three (there should have been 4,  but that's par for the course in the MH sector) have been superb to start with & I've worked out little tweaks and alterations to move forwards with. Excited.
** Current physio advice (for the physically fit) is for R. I.C. E to become M. I. C. E. (M=move) as soon as swelling has gone down, (I had v little) and pain allows. Admittedly they probs don't mean 24k steps, but I'm an over achiever ;-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.