Grey Heron

The young one has worked out that the best way to get her share of food in the morning is to fly over to the grass. She did this today although the older female was not there. The male was round at the top end of the loch as was the youngest one. The crow was everywhere with me. This afternoon the young one flew over to a log near the drainage area. I started feeding her and she was joined by the older female. After they had made their grunty greeting I continued feeding them both. The young one was eating everything she got as was the older female. I wonder if it is a territory thing with them albeit that it is only a few yards away where the young one refuses to eat. I made my way round to see the male and the youngest one. The male wasn't around but the youngest one was. The older female flew up but was chased off by the youngest one. I started feeding it (not sure of it's sex yet but it has quite a long beak for it's size so could be a male) as it was eating a greylag goose crept up behind it, hissed and went to nip it. The little Heron turned and lunged at the goose beak first, that made the goose back off!
No crow this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.