H

I first moved onto the road where I live in July 2000, and after I'd been here a couple of years there was a jubilee (whatever the last one was). We threw a street party and I was delighted to find that my new(ish) neighbours were not particularly monarchist but did very much enjoy a get together. From that year onwards, we had an annual street party, despite there being no regal imperative to do so.

This year, of course, the queen has stepped back into the frame and we took this as an excuse for a larger party, ably facilitated by my terrific neighbour, Peter.

I'm happy to say that the Minx and I played our part: she made two large cakes bearing the initials of our road, and I took care of the music, sticking resolutely to the 50s, 60s, and early 70s (plus one Harry Styles track for Abi) for my Spotify playlist.  AND I made Cornish pasties! (See Extra.)

I'm happy to report that we had a tremendous evening. Charlie and Hannah came up especially for the occasion, so my first batch of children were well represented, and Abi was absolutely charming, going around and chatting to our lovely neighbours. We're so very lucky to live here (and one of the services rendered to me by this blog is that it provides a place to count my blessings!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.