Imagine the view....

By btc

London A-Z: Fish Street Hill EC3...

...sight of the famous monument to the Tower of London and today my viewing point as the London Marathon runners came by.

A beautifully sunny day in the capital (and warm as long as you were in the sunshine) for this annual event, we decided to have a family day out to see it live (also that I could blip). It is such a great event and the crowds were out in force as always, I have always said that London really knows how to do an event.

So in case you didn't know, pictured is Precious Jeptoo the winner of the elite womens race although having seen the crash that Tiki Gelana had after she collided with a wheelchair athlete that ran over her legs, I am surprised that she finished as close as she did.

The mens race was won by Tsegaye Kebede who I didn't even bother to shoot properly because he was so far back where we were at the 23 mile marker that I didn't concentrate on him, the Mens wheelchair event was won by Australian Kurt Fearnley, who beat our beloved Weirwolf. The womens wheelchair event was won be Tatyana McFadden and the Paralympian race by Chentouf El Amin.

But on top of all that when you see things like blind and one armed athletes completing the marathon, it makes me love my fellow man again.

Even more importantly though, today was Matthew's 10th birthday (where has it gone) so it gave Jayne an excuse to be even more mushy with him as usual. It was all going so well until the 2 boys got into a barny at the end of the day and I had to dispatch them both to bed. I hope that your weekend has ended better than mine, although saying that its time for another bottle of champagne as we always do on their birthdays while Jayne gives me a blow by blow recount of what it was like giving birth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.