Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Pleased with this.

This is, I think, a Phormium tenax, possibly Sundowner variety. It's been growing here at the end of our pond for at least 15 years. This year for the first time it has put out two enormous flower spikes well over 6 foot long. I'm looking forward to seeing the flowers which apparently bees love and I believe it then has fruits which the birds enjoy. I bought it for 50p in the sale bin at Homebase along with the Cordyline next to it, stuck it in the bed and pretty well ignored it ever since. The Cordyline likes its position too as we've cut it down from around 8 foot tall to ground level when a new shoot has come, at least three times. A good pounds worth for the two of them!
Popping into the garden, which fortunately isn't overlooked, is the sum total of my exercise today.
Thank you for your good wishes, I seem to have a fairly mild dose but I'm staying in bed most of the day and away from Colin. I had hoped to attend my friend's mum's funeral today in Bannockburn which obviously couldn't happen, but I phoned the undertaker and was pleased to find that I could attend it online. Not the same but better than nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.