Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New shoes

JR had a lie in today. Coffee and toast (with Mrs FP’s delicious jam) in bed. And while the rest of the country boils in record high temperatures, we did not. Dull and breezy was the order of the day. But, on balance, I prefer not to have record high temperatures - I would just like ‘normal’ June temperatures. 

When I took Archie out round the block first thing, I took a photo of the overflowing bins on the next street and sent in a complaint. When I next went out with him later in the day, it was all tidied up. I must say, they do repsond to complaints about individual bins, especially with photos. But I’d be kept busy most days sending in photos of overflowing bins in the area.

JR set off into town on a mission. She’d had her eye on something that she really couldn’t live without, and it (they) were on sale.

I watched some tennis, then a couple of episodes of BB. I’d forgotten just how awful some of episodes are, dealing with drugs, drug addicts and squalor, so the FF button was utilised. My favourite bits are where Walt’s brother-in-law is featuring - he’s so un-PC it’s very funny.

We’ve had, all week, not only workmen in the flat upstairs, but chaps fixing the windows in the flat above that one. So we’ve had ladders, men appearing at odd windows, and lots of putty, bits of wood and general debris in our front and back garden. ‘We’ll tidy up!’ They assured us… actually, 6.30pm on a Friday, and they’re only just packing up. JR suggested we ask them to come and check our windows too… I painted the front windows many years ago, but they do (almost) need re-doing.

Photo of Archie taken on the ‘Muriel Spark Walk’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.