A Parasol Firmament

Unlike yesterday I was not awoken early by the unearthly scream of a fox cub but I was still up before 5 am as I couldn't sleep. I ventured downstairs to the kitchen and looked out the window to be greeted by the sight of three fox cubs taking it in turns to jump off our garage roof and on to our winter jasmine hedge a couple of feet below.
They had no idea I was there (they are actually very timid and the second they see you they disappear up the garden and into the undergrowth) so I just stood transfixed for several minutes as they took it turns to leap, yelp, play act, bite and chase each other around our back garden. It was joyful just watching them.
Today's title is the most over the top I could think for one of the laziest images I have taken recently (why try to fight it!). I was just sitting under our garden parasol with a coffee when I noticed the intricate shadows the branches of our old rather exhausted fir tree (it as been warm over the last few days and it really doesn't like any kind of heat) were casting across the fabric.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.