Groggster

By Groggster

A Sanpellegrino Counterfeit Warhol

I thought I would get all my chores out the way early today so I could clear the afternoon to watch the boys (Scotland) take on the Czech Republic. I had been so looking forward to it - our first major tournament in 23 years. I was even going to look out my old Scotland shirt but I couldn't find it. Perhaps I should have taken this as a bad sign!
We started off in a very positive manner for the first 15 minutes or so and created some decent chances but just as half time was approaching we lost concentration. 1-O down. Aargh!
We began the second half very sloppily but after making some substitutions we came back strongly into the game. Then disaster struck. One of our players slammed a shot against a Czech defender and the ball broke into the path of their striker who proceeded to lob our goalkeeper David Marshall from almost the halfway line. You have to say it was a world class strike but we had played a significant part in our own downfall again.
We still managed to create several gilt edged chances but did not take any of them. Unfortunately this is an all too familiar story for Scotland over the years - we don't take our chances and then concede soft goals. Still all is not lost - we just need to beat England at Wembley now!
Needless to say I wasn't in the mood for venturing out after that so today's shot is just a cheeky homemade Warhol tribute (I didn't have any soups cans!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.