am bioran

By AmBioran

Lochivraon Cottage

The weather didn't improve overnight, with gales blowing down the glen and rain lashing at the currugated iron roof of the bothy. Before dark, I decided to pitch my tent in the lee of the estate cottage which I'm glad was a wise choice. Not only was the bothy colder than outside, but the roof made a racket in the wind. I slept relatively well in my tent.

This morning in the continuing gale, I headed up Creag Rainich behind the bothy. I was resigned to challenging conditions, lets face it my boots were soaking already from yesterday and it was a straightforward peak. However, on the summit the winds exceeded 70mph and with only a trig point to hide behind, I began to regret my decision.

This was the view on my return to the track, with my tent hiding in the lee of the gable end.

I sploshed out to join the Road of Destitution and then trudged the tarmac to Braemore Junction. The bus took me back to my car at Garve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.