Kalmia latifolia

Today's the day ...................... for an old favourite

First of all, can I say a big thank you to all you lovely people - for all your kind messages wishing us well in our current state of ill-health.  So far, at least, it hasn't seemed any worse than a bad cold (although it's so long since I had one of those that I've more or less forgotten what that is like?!)  We'll just carry on taking it easy - and hope that we're in the clear and able to attend some important engagements over the weekend.

As to the above, I know I always blip this shrub around this time of year - but that's because it's one of my favourites.  It is actually native to North America - named by the Swedish botanist, Linnaeus, to honour his friend the Finnish botanist Pehr Kalm.  

It was introduced into Britain in the mid-1700s by the Quaker merchant, Peter Collinson. Although Collinson was a cloth merchant by vocation, largely trading with North America, his real love was gardening. Through his business contacts he obtained samples of seeds and plants from around the world - and sold them on to fellow horticulturalists.

I'm always so pleased to see that it has made it through another winter to produce these very characteristic flowers ..............................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.