Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Naughty boy!

Quite warm today! Archie and I set off for a walk - JR was going to clean the pavers on other side of the front garden, so it was prudent to keep out of the way.

As we walked down the road, a bus came along, so we hopped in and went down to the Royal Mile. It was mobbed. Down Victoria Street to the Grassmarket - even more mobbed! 

We stopped for an ice cream, and then, avoiding the Vennel Steps, came round past the Art College back to the Meadows. We sat and waited till the crowds of school kids had gone back in, and let him off the lead, throwing a stick for him. He gets very excited when he chases sticks, but after a couple of excited yelping runs, he gets bored, and resorts to just sniffing around, usually finding something not nice in the grass to roll around in. 

All very well, but… then he caught a whiff of something and rushed off, away back to the trees. I could see him rushing along between the trees. And then I saw him with what he’d smelt - a big paper bag of SOMETHING in his gob. I had to walk all the way back, but if I got near him, he’d just run off further. The little brat!

Then he took off across the Meadows, and the more I tried to get to him, the nearer he got to the main road. I had to just stop. He lay down in the shade of the big trees, only a few metres from the road. I walked far away from him, and came round behind him. He was so engrossed in gobbling down his illicit treat, that I could sneak up behind him and grab him! It turned out to be a pork pie with lashings of tomato sauce! Yuk! I was so mad at him. But actually I’m even madder at the irresponsible person who didn’t put it in a bin, but just chucked it on the ground for the first dog to come along.

I’ve been glaring at him ever since, but he’s oblivious.

JR made some delicious bread I spotted on TikTok this morning - just yoghurt, oats, an egg, then add nuts, raisins and anything else you fancy. Truly tasty.

These peonies were just doggie-height!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.