Camera Shy

By Wildstar

Studio Group Restarts.

At the tail end of 2019 a few of us started a Studio Group mostly made up of Camera Club Members but run as a separate group.  Just getting in to trying a few things out and making plans for future shoots when we were grounded by Covid.  We have just picked up from where we left off by hiring a dancer and playing with strobe effects and 2nd curtain flash.  The dancer was a friend of the studio owner and is between bookings from her usual job of entertaining on cruise ships  in the Caribbean.
Lucy was very professional and patient with us,  as the amateurs in the room.  For me, in particular, I am not that familiar with flash settings etc. and quite a few of us were unfamiliar with locating the various controls on our cameras in the darkness of the studio!  That was a learning experience for a start.  At one point half of us were crammed in the cloakroom (toilet) where there was light to enable us to consult manuals and sort out settings!  Most of us have different makes of equipment but we were all trying to help each other which was nice.  This was one of my better shots.  Studio photography is not really my "thing" but we had an enjoyable evening and I learnt a few things - all good!
In other news I managed to secure Ginny to a post at the allotment while I attempted another go at Ringlet butterflies.  Today they were far more skittish but my session was cut short by a distressed, agitated, panicky Dachshund.  I had managed to position her on top of a RED ants nest and they were CROSS.  They were in her fur, in her paws and were biting her angrily.  Poor Ginny!  I untangled her lead and moved her away as I tried to brush them from her.  Either the mob followed for revenge or I managed to locate another nest close by but she was attacked again. She took quite a while to calm down and we resumed our walk with no more photography for the day. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.