Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Everything is just peachy

We went to one of our favorite Amish/Mennonite diners today for lunch and on the way home we came back through the peach orchard area.  This grove of trees was loaded with peaches.  I think they are still a little green.   The next orchard past this had no peaches on the trees.   I know that we have early peaches and late peaches which usually are ripe mid to late July and into August.   Those are the best peaches.   

Way back in March I posted a photo of the peach blossoms.  Isn't it amazing how a flower can become something totally different!    peach flowers

We did stop at the peach market to buy a large bag.as peaches are my favorite fruit.     They are still a little firm but I am going to let them sit out on a towel on the floor to ripen a little. This is near the vent for the a/c so they will be cool and hopefully ripen slowly.   I never put peaches in the refrigerator.     If they get ripe too fast, there is always peach cobbler or I can freeze them.  

When we were driving from the restaurant to the peach place it poured rain so hard I had a hard time seeing the road.  Luckily it only lasted a few miles and then was a gentle rain for a long way.   Jerry looked at the weather radar on his phone and thought maybe we would get some of this rain at home...nope...got home and it had not rained a drop at my house.   There is another cloud rolling around so maybe we will get rain this evening.

A few miles from the restaurant was huge field of sunflowers.  Unfortunately, they were facing away from where we pulled off the road to take a photo.   I put that photo in the extras anyway as it is a good look at the backside of sunflowers!!  

Happy July!    Have a great weekend Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.