Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Curly

This deer with the curled up hooves is still coming to the feeder...sometimes with the herd...but this morning he was by himself along with one big doe.   I looked out to see if the fawns were around but I did not see them at all.    

His horns are growing nicely and it looks like he will have 5 points on each side.  Apparently whatever is going on with his feet..this is called foundering...does not affect his antlers.  And definitely does not keep him from walking.  I haven't seen him break away to run but as long as he can walk I feel like he has a chance to survive.   And maybe be a deer daddy later this year.

Another hot, hot day.  I cut the grass in the front yard early this morning and gave up trying to cut any other area.   The hot air is not helping the tomatoes and flowers.  I water but there are already yellowed/dry leaves on just about every plant.    We need another rain here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.