Day 6: Travel

My stressing about the travel to London and Lisbon never extended to getting home again, and, as it turns out, it would have been unnecessary if it had.

Breakfast at the hotel, a taxi to the airport, a fairly straightforward journey through security, and then lunch while we waited for the gate to open. The flight back was fine and marred only slightly by finishing my book and not having anything else to read.

Arriving back in England was fairly desultory. I mean, there's not much that you can do about the lack of sunshine but I was hungry and thirsty when I got to the airport station, only to find the shop was closed and that the vending machines were empty or broken. It was like being at the start of a film that wanted to telegraph SEVENTIES BRITAIN.

But the train ride was fine, even if Abi collecting me was complicated by the fact that there was a fire at the café where she works. In the end, I took a taxi down to Domino's - I'd promised her pizza - and she picked me up from there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.