Finally!

At some point in the late nineties, when I was working at Scottish Provident in Kendal, I developed a really annoying dry cough, which lasted for several weeks. It would return intermittently - every few years, I guess - but I never did anything about it until 2020, when Covid struck and a dry cough was one of the symptoms.

Prior to that first lockdown, I'd get funny looks coughing in public, so I went to see my GP, but she diagnosed it as hay fever. Frankly, I was dubious, but sometimes taking Piriteze seemed to help and, anyway, that was that.

The dry cough returned on Monday and seemed to worsen over the course of Tuesday and Wednesday, despite Bob giving me some of his hay fever tablets, and I was worried that it was exacerbated by the heat, especially as the Minx and I are off to Greece in the Summer.

But then I had such a feverish - although, perversely, good - night's sleep last night that, this morning, it occurred to me to take a Covid test. And there you go, a nice bold line. After more than two years, I finally have it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.