Grey Heron

Both the older heron and my heron met me near the entrance to the park this morning. It is amazing how much less timid the older one is when my one is around. I gave the older one some pollock as she eats nearly anything whereas my one prefers the whitebait. The 2 crows were there too with the fledgling. I gave them some biscuits until I noticed that one of the crows got a bit of the pollock before the heron then flew over to it's fledgling and fed it to it. I made sure they both got some more. My one eventually took off back to the loch, followed by the older female. I then made my way around the loch to the clearing. To my great delight I saw the youngest one waiting there. I gave her what I had left then made my way home. I was later getting up this afternoon but was rewarded by seeing the male. He flew over had a good feed of whitebait but as a dog approached the fence he took off, he is the most nervy one. I made my way back to the clearing thinking he would land there for some more. He was about to when another heron chased him and landed. I was really surprised to see it was the youngest one. I gave her the rest of the whitebait then headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.