Grey Heron

When I went up to the loch this morning the older female heron met me at the entrance there was no sign of the young one (doesn't feel right referring to her as my heron so it is back to "the young one" ). I fed the older female some pollock then made my way around the loch. I eventually ran into the male who also  got a feed. My cousin Anrola was visiting with my aunt in the afternoon so I went back up a bit earlier. I got to the loch when the young one flew over, I had just started feeding her when somebody a few yards away threw a bagful  of  bits of bread into the loch which brought the gulls over and sent the young one off. I saw her land at the spot we went to yesterday so made my way there. I just got there and started feeding her when the older female landed. It must be her territory at this point because the young one stopped eating. There was no sign of the very young one today. The crows followed me all the way round and got a mix of biscuits which they hid and pollock which was taken to the fledgling.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.