Ingleton Viaduct

A whole day at home, and by this evening I had to get out, so I drove over to Ingleton and took a walk around the town.

I was initially bemused by the way some of the people were dressed, but by the time I was three quarters of the way 'round, I'd surmised that there had been some kind of 'Peaky Blinders' themed event in the town that day.

My walk took me past the eastern end of the viaduct and I took today's Blip from a little further south. From what I can make out, none of the mainline trains ever ran across the viaduct, which seems like a terrible wasted effort. I did find a reference, though, to the fact that for the price of one penny, people could take a ride between the stations at either end and thus enjoy the view from the viaduct.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.