jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Bliss

Some days, some days are just beautiful. They are the days that you treasure, and hold on to, and believe for more of.

Today was one. We went out to tots in the morning and played, the boys did their thing, nobody got into any fights or disputes, I had cake and coffee (with caffeine - Steve was away last night so I stayed up far too late as per usual, determined to make progress on Bear's blanket), Bean and I chatted at the end about helping to tidy up now that he was almost five (not for another 6 months but I'm playing it) and he instantly stopped wriggling and said "ok I'll help tidy up" - win!

Home for lunch in the sunshine in the garden. Digging and rehoming the fushia we planted out into the boys' digging patch to a spot near the climbing frame where it might not get dug up by Bear; rehoming the tadpoles to the paddling pool which Bear was giddy with glee about and is our official Tadpole Botherer although I have drawn the line at hitting them with a spade or trying to eat them; nursing Bear to a snooze while Bean raced around in various spaceships putting fires out. Of course Bear didn't actually fall asleep but it turns out we all got a bit sunburnt over lunchtime. And more sunburn on our subsequent walk into town to pay a cheque in (our financial shortfall for the month covered in that cheque - thankyou!) although I remembered sunhats for the walk.

We called in at the library on the way home, maybe the second or third time I've been in to my shame - it's not that I don't love books (I do!) but just that the library has never made its way into our daily routine of sorts. But it is now :) Bean chose a couple of books on dinosaurs and we read them end to end at bedtime!

And finally as promised we had a play in the playpark before getting home. Bean was happy. Bear had a love at first sight moment when a cute little girl in a sundress and hat came toddling over past him. Stopped and stared. "Who is she, mama?!" And carried on...

A beautiful day. Relaxed, at our own pace, getting lots done, staying connected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.