Overs over & gone

Oh dear. Elbows used birthday money to buy tickets off a friend to go and see England play India at The Oval.

The prospect was so exciting. Taking time off work, the best teams in the world, the best players in the teams, dry weather, floodlights, a picnic … He was super excited and I was pretty excited.

BUT … but … it didn’t really go to any plan. It felt like it was all over in the first 15 minutes.

We lost 10 wickets, scoring a small 110. They lost no wickets and skipped past us to 114 and it was all over before 5. And play only started at 1pm. And it was meant to be 50 overs each. Ha. Pah. Shame.

I don’t think I’ve been to The Oval before. Trent Bridge and Lords many times. So it was the first time I’ve seen the sign “Micky Stewart’s Members Pavilion”. Cool. I was at school with his daughter Judy and we all followed everything the Stewart’s did. And they followed all of our hockey and netball exploits. And I think half the year had a crush on her brother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.