Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Out of my comfort zone

I am referring of course to a type of photography that I almost never do - macro, mainly because of where I live. Today has turned out to be my last day in the UK so friend Eileen drove me around the neighbourhood for a last shot at blossom, spring flowers etc... I am trying to do more nature photography.

This is the last shot I took today! I really like these little flowers. Never noticed them before (but then I'm not usually here in Spring). It's been a busy day racing around doing last things, and I have just finished putting my stuff into my case. Fortunately Emirates allow 30kg and multiple check-in pieces, so everything I've bought (mainly books for G) and pigeon spikes (yes!!) are travelling back in a separate box!

Apologies if I don't catch up with all of you tonight; I shall do so by Saturday. Bfn.

PS. I should tell you the story of Pauline getting my entry permit this morning. It was of course rejected at the first counter as today completes the 30 days before another visit visa can be applied for. Pauline asked if she could speak to someone else and was told to try at another counter, but also told they would say the same thing. Whilst waiting, a man walked past who recognised her (it may have been an ex-patient). He said Hello and asked if he could help!! Issued the visa in a few minutes. There you go... THAT'S Dubai! Next thing - a job!

PPS. These flowers are called Grape Hyacinth! My friend had to remind me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.