Sunday: Early Morning St John’s

There are a couple of interesting things about St John’s I have forgotten to tell you. The first is that the time difference is on the half hour, so an hour and a half ahead of Ottawa.  That’s pretty quirky - there are only a few places I’ve come across where the time difference isn’t on the full hour.

The second is the accent, which is unlike anything we’ve heard in Canada.  It is incredibly Irish and has a very strong Celtic lilt quite distinct from the rest of the country.  

Anyway, an early morning stroll, a light breakfast, and here we are, back in Ottawa, after flying back via Toronto.  And it’s now very much the home stretch as we get ready to leave Canada shortly. 

I tell you what really fascinates me about travel - last week we left home, having limited ideas of what we would see or experience.  And here we are, a week later, back in our familiar place, with new impressions, sights, conversations and encounters that we didn’t know would happen and are now firmly in our memory bank.

I am also about to make a controversial statement.  I think it should be forbidden to travel in shorts.  There, I’ve said it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.