Grey Heron

The older female was around first thing this morning but no sign of the young one. I walked round to the clearing and was pleasantly surprised to see the youngest one. I was going out this afternoon so tried a quick visit about 10:30. The older female flew over as soon as she saw me. I heard a man speaking to his daughter to say that the Heron had come closer. She was obviously intent on seeing her closer and I heard the father telling her not to run and be very quiet. The next thing I knew she was standing next to me. Very well behaved and full of questions. I answered what I could, she then asked if she could give the heron a whitebait so I told he that she could. Her father came across and was amazed to see his daughter feeding the heron. Then the young one appeared which delighted her even more. We continued feeding the two of them. When the fish was finished I told her that not many people get to feed heron. She was very excited and her dad reckoned it had really made her day. Not the best shot of the young one as I was too busy feeding her. A shot of the youngest one as the extra to compensate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.