Grey Heron

The young one was not around this morning, only the older female who was waiting for me at the edge of the loch. I went back after lunch and saw the young one flying overhead. She landed on a tree directly above me then flew down to the path. She had a lot of whitebait before flying back to the water. I made my way there and started feeding her again only to be joined by the older female and the 3 crows. Thankfully I had enough for them all. The work round the loch is definitely affecting them. The diggers they use make a warning sound when reversing  it sounds like a distressed heron. I noticed that the young one froze when she heard it and continued eating when the sound stopped. 
I won't get up after lunch tomorrow so am going to head up a bit earlier before the work starts.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.