Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Giraffes!

My back is a lot better - back to normal, ie just stiff when I get up from sitting. 

I went for a blood test this morning, and then Denise came to take Archie out. The day was definitely cooler, and actually looked a bit like rain coming. But it didn’t.

We decided to take a trip to the Botanics, something we’ve been meaning to do for ages. Dogs not allowed, but anyway, Archie was happier being left in the house with his bone.

We haven’t been there for years, and I wasn’t sure of the stop, so when we did get off, I checked with the driver that this was the stop for the zoo. The ZOO! No, I meant the Botanics! He assured us it was the stop for the Botanics, and as he drove past us he tooted and pointed back the other way. Helpful driver…

There were some of those wee mobility scooters at the gate - it’s great that they’re available for those who need one. We were disappointed that the huge Victorian glasshouses are shut, they are renovating them. We were surprised at just how busy the place was. We had a scone and a cuppa at the cafe. JR looked in at the ‘art exhibition’ but I didn’t bother. I don’t think I missed much from her brief report.

We walked from there to Stockbridge to get the bus back home. Brief thoughts of mooching around the shops were abandoned when we saw that our bus was imminent. (10,027 steps!)

Town is covered in colourful giraffes. JR looks like she’s bowing to this rather pretty one, but she’s actually reading the info about them.

PS Happy birthday to my wee pal Anne!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.