Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

One’s birthday!

‘Tis my birthday today. Another year gone, although I told someone the wrong age, and so I’m a year younger than I thought I was.

So, breakfast in bed to start the day - coffee and a bagel with honey. I then took Archie out for a quick walk, for the doctor was phoning me at 9.30 to discuss my blood tests. It’s hard to discuss stuff like that on the phone, so she asked me to come in. I was actually in for about an hour! Nothing (too) serious, but she did seem to have all the time in the world. She’s a young, Eastern European woman, and I really appreciate her efforts on my behalf. A scan to follow and a test next week about my balance/vertigo/light-headedness. 

Then we went into town for a special lunch at The Ivy. And it was terrific. Great service, good menu, delicious food (an epic prawn cocktail - Extra 1). And we had an excellent table looking out on the Scott Memorial and the lovely old building that was Jenners (to be converted into a hotel at some point).

And yes, they brought me a special surprise ‘Happy Birthday’ dessert. Later, I made sure the waiter was NOT going to bring me the dessert that I had ordered, and he admitted he’d forgotten about it, so I said ‘Good, I don’t want it.’ A wee while later he brought us a lemon posset to share to apologise for his forgetfulness! We managed to eat it all. It was a perfect end to the meal. But The Ivy doesn’t get 10/10 because of the godawful, completely unnecessary, screechy muzak!

We walked to the bus through the Gardens. They were yellow - no green grass! (Extra 2) and yes, there were more giraffes (Extra 3).

Once home, I retrieved a couple of gift bags from behind the dustbin, placed there by Christine, whom we thought was still away on holiday. Some smashing goodies inside, including the inspired present of a voucher (from Elizabeth) for FOUR double ice creams at Mary’s Milk Bar, my favourite… 

We then popped across to Hazel’s back garden for a wee glass of bubbly (Extra 4) which was lovely. Archie came with us, but wasn’t allowed to sniff around, piddling everywhere - he had to sit with us and behave. Two other dogs could have use of the garden, but don’t. 

So - an eventful, fun-filled day, with lots of treats. 

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.