One day at a time

By MikeSlade

A bank

I had some errands to do in Hexham, like collect a sandal from the cobblers. I arrived. Nothing had been done. ‘Give me 30 minutes.’ 

On the way I thought I would take a street view of Hallstile Bank in Hexham, Northumberland.
Many would call this a hill, or a slope but in Northumberland such things are often called banks. It is a good step up here, makes the heart beat faster and breathing deeper.
The houses on the right were built in 1888, according to the stone in the middle one, with the letters TE above. 
It’s a one way street in the down direction. Attempts have been made to restrict access to residents only but it is a often used route down from the Market Place, Abbey etc to make it essential so after the usual trial run it reverts back to open to all. It used to be two-way which caused many problems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.