Apron

A social day. This morning I visited friends for coffee (and lovely home baked scones) to chat about our trip to the USA in April. They are about to do the trip in reverse (and sail back). It has been a few years since they were there so I passed on my more recent guide books and experiences.

When I mentioned the Masonic temple in Philadelphia they showed me this fire screen in which has been mounted a masonic apron belonging to one of their ancestors. The precise location of its origin are not known but understood to be from East Lothian. It makes for a blip that is not of flowers!

Later in the day we went next door for a party to celebrate the upcoming wedding of the youngest in the family. They moved in a month after we did some 35 years ago and we recall the groom arriving as a new baby into the house. Lots of chat with his fiancée’s family (many Irish roots, as we have), plenty of fizz and some lovely food made for a very enjoyable evening, tinged with sadness that both parents have passed away. We left the younger ones to party on and as I type after 11pm many are still in the garden chatting away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.