Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Visitors

When JR came home from the gym, and Archie and I had been to the Links, we got organised for some visitors - Christine and Dougal were coming - Dougal was making his first indoor visit and was very excited. Alice and her mum Mary were also coming, though they seemed to think it was for ‘afternoon tea’ - though I know that ‘tea’ was never mentioned. Besides, at 4pm, it was obviously ‘drinkies and nibbles’.

JR’s cocktail sticks, the old favourites - mango & prawn; prosciutto, melon & bocconcini; pea fritters with quail’s egg & ham hock. Also some small savoury muffins, which she made yesterday. And Prosecco - not tea or coffee. 

I took Archie out to meet Dougal at the corner, so that they could both come into the house together without any territorial barking by you-know-who. Archie then disappeared, while Dougal was VERY excited, though he eventually settled down to snooze.

A most pleasant afternoon was had, and when the others had gone, Christine and I had a fiddle with the Echo Dot. Christine gave me the Dot for my birthday, and knows a lot more about them than I do, as she’s had one for ages.

Later, while JR and Archie snoozed, I watched a couple of ‘Breaking Bad’ episodes. It seems go on and on forever…

Can you read Dougal’s tag?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.