Charlotte potatoes

These are some potatoes I dug yesterday. They are second earlies and we had them for supper last night…very tasty with some butter. However it is a very poor yield , this is the haul from three plants and weighed only 1.3 kg. Some had to be discarded as they had holes so only about enough for four people.  The soil was so dry and hard it was quite difficult to dig. 

I went on a different route for a dog walk and was dismayed to see all the blackberry plants virtually dried up. A few weeks ago there were masses of flowers and lots of fruits forming so I thought it would be a good harvest. However there are likely to be no fruits even though some of the plants are in the shade. All rather depressing. Friends who have not watered their gardens say they have lost several long established shrubs too.

We went out to a local restaurant today with my daughter and her family to have a belated birthday celebration at lunchtime. The children were so good throughout as between courses they had sticker books and colouring books to entertain them. I am always amazed when parents take nothing to restaurants to ‘entertain’ their children….except  of course giving them their phones!

I am looking at grey skies and hoping for rain so that I do not need to go to water the allotment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.