Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

Day of milestones

I used to think a year was a long time. Now I'm not so sure...

Not only does April 26 mark a year of Blips it also marks a number of significant events. A year ago today, on a holiday in Prague, Nikki and I discovered the joyous news that we'd be welcoming a new born baby into this world. Neither of us could quite believe it at the time, nor could we anticipate the changes it would bring to our lives.

So much has happened in this past year, all of which were shared on the wonderful pages of Blip; news of the baby, the first scan, visits from down under, buying a more practical house & car, and of course the birth of the wee man himself. Unfortunately not all the news was positive. As well as welcoming Ernest, I'm afraid I bade farewell to my father.

I've learned a great deal in the past 12 months, and have taken great pride in seeing Nikki blossom into not only a wonderful mother but also an even greater partner. Thank you. And thanks to all the support and encouragement of family, friends, and fellow blippers. Whilst time may bring maturity and wisdom, I hope it never affects our enthusiasm!

To top it off, today marks another milestone in the life of wee Ernie. For the first time in his life, he slept through the night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.