The stand off

I have 3 hummingbird feeders. About 3 years ago one of the downey woodpeckers realized this stuff tasted just like maple tree sap - or close enough to be delicious. I think it taught it's babies about it because now I have 2 and possibly 3 different downeys visiting the feeders. The male hummer only seems to visit in the early morning , but the female can be seen later in the day , though also mostly late afternoon early evening. I was trying to find some good bugs or butterflies when I passed this feeder on the pear tree about 6 PM. I saw the downey on it and thought I would grab a few shots just incase I didn't find any good bugs when Mrs Hummer showed up fro dinner. There was a stare off for a few minutes ( or 5 shots) . After one feint towards the feeder when the downey didn't move  , she decided to go elsewhere. There are two other feeders but this is her preferred > how dare he!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.