Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Ice cream!

Archie and I walked over to the Links this morning in the sun. I sat on a bench for a while and read my book, while he pottered about sniffing every tree round about. Until a big old black dog came along, Marley - we met him the other day - and Archie ran up to him squealing with delight. Marley walked on, ignoring him. Then, moments later, his all-time favourite - Bobby (another big, old, black dog) ambled by. Such excitement - Archie was like a wee puppy! Bobby walked on, taking absolutely no notice of his biggest fan. Both owners thought it was all very amusing.

I checked the opening times of Mary’s Milk Bar - yes! Open on Wednesdays!! So we decided to walk down and use one of my birthday ice cream vouchers (thanks, Elizabeth). 

We walked down the Vennel steps for a change, and thence to Mary’s. 
No queue, GOOD. 
No queue, because, er, it was NOT open!! 

A wee sign saying they were taking a wee holiday today, a Wednesday. Luckily, there is another ice cream shop nearby.

We walked on round the road, then the others walked on through the Gardens, while I went to catch a bus home. And as I rounded the corner, my bus was there, ready to move off! I ran stumbled along, on the road, waving my bus pass, so that he couldn’t take off anyway. Phew!

I did my exercises today, including the new one with weights. I’ve decided that I WILL do them every day - my physiotherapist’s reasoning (that his training routine strains his muscles so much) doesn’t really apply to me, because I’m not exactly straining myself, therefore I don’t need to ‘rest’. Besides, the first lot of exercises he set me, much the same as these ones, were to be done three times a day, every day! Which I did, even while on my champagne holiday.

A selfie, because I mostly did videos today, and a still from a video isn’t sharp enough, I find.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.