TrishH60

By TrishH60

Great Egret.

We have a man made lake here at Richmond call Lake Fred Tritton, something that surprises a lot of our tourists as it is right on the edge of town and after driving hundreds of miles and only seeing flat country it is a very welcome site. No doubt I will be get quite a few of my blips from this area.

I went for a drive this afternoon looking for a photo for my blip as I seem to do every afternoon, I spotted this guy standing near the edge of the bank looking for an afternoon snack. I started taking a few photos of him as I got closer, as our bird friends tend to be a bit shy so I was trying to see how close I could get before he took off. When he did take off he circled and flew back the way I had come, so I was able to get quite a few nice photos of him flying. This was the one I liked best.
I Googled him this evening so I could made sure I had his name right, I thought he was a Heron but my trusty Google page said that he is a Great Egret and that he maybe Immature as he has a darker tip to the bill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.