JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Football drama. As

I'm a football fan, for the love of it, the joy and exasperation, the beauty and the despair, the theatre and the drama. I've travelled all over Scotland and beyond supporting my team, but I'm also an armchair fan of football and of most top-class international sport.

Today was a quiet one, and while working on something, I had Gillette Soccer Saturday on Sky Sports on in the background. We can say that it's over-hyped and overblown, but the last day of the season in a couple of English leagues brings the aforementioned drama. If you are a fan, or if you're not, here's what happened around the scoreline in the pic.

Brentford v Doncaster. Whichever team wins gains automatic promotion. In the last minute, Brentford are awarded a penalty. I should add at this stage that none of this can be viewed, it's all done by description, from the anchor in the studio and the reporter at (on) the ground. The Brentford player misses the penalty, and Doncaster go up the other end and score. Final whistle. Doncaster are promoted, and actually win the league, while Brentford go into the play-offs.

Neither is my team, and pressed, I don't actually care about either. Typing the above I'm struck by how dry it all sounds. I'm not a football reporter, but I've tried to recreate the drama a little. I have done the drama a dis-service however. The missing ingredient is the 'live' aspect, the 'you had to be there' aspect (or even watching it on the telly). You can take a photo, you can watch the video, but often the associated emotion of experiencing it as it happened is lacking. Brentford 0 Doncaster 1. No less drama for all that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.