Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

hen.


Tonight is the hen night I arranged for jas- dinner and comedy for 17. Actual comedy, not just my usual patter.

I can't believe she's getting married so soon. It doesn't feel long ago we were at uni and all my course mates hated sociology and nutrition- the classes I was best at and loved. And now shes getting married and moving to London.

The comedians weren't all that funny. Some things they said were but I couldn't forgive them the sexist, racist, homophobic and child abuse jokes. Have I become too sensitive? Or is that a good thing? There are some jokes about gender or race that are funny- it isn't them all. It's the ones that aren't funny and are just plain offensive that get me a bit annoyed. One comedian kept talking about the size of one of the audience members boobs and while I make fun of my own tiny boobs, its not cool for a comedian to do it to someone he (presumably) doesn't know. It's offensive and potentially hurtful and personally I'd be really embarrassed. I think its ok to joke about yourself because you know your own limits but it isn't ok for a random comedian to do it.

I don't know maybe it is me being oversensitive.

I'm oversensitive maybe because my mates moving away!!! In only a couple of weeks. I'm so happy for her but so sad for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.