Childhood Joy

Outside my parents' house is a grassy slope. When we were kids, we spent ages playing on this slope, doing roly polys and playing Dead Man's Fall*. Today we walked down there to pick up the car. Once we arrived, Conor wanted a feed so Ed played outside with Orla. I eventually came out to discover her joyously rolling down the hill. It's so bizarre in a way, because I remember doing it myself so clearly and now here's my daughter doing it (and my nephew - Ryan had a go too when he showed up!).

*Dead Man's Fall - I don't know how we came up with/learnt about this, but this game consisted of the person who was "het" standing at the bottom of the hill and the rest of us at the top. You chose your method of dying (grenade, machine gun etc.) then had to "die" theatrically by throwing yourself down the hill in the appropriate fashion. The het person chose the winner. Pure, innocent fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.