One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Drought

I spotted some unhealthy looking tomatoes, affecting only 2 of the varieties. I picked the affected ones in case it could be passed on, but a little research (googling on my phone) showed that it was blossom end rot which is caused by calcium deficiency, and that is generally caused by a lack of water during the growth.

Since this is my first year on the allotment I don't know what the soil is like, at least I had the comfort that it wasn't a disease that could spread. There's not a lot that I can do during this dry weather while I am working away, an allotment neighbour is watering for me while I am away, Hopefully, the other varieties (I was given 6 or 7 different types) will be more resistant to this problem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.