MerlotsDad

By MerlotsDad

Spring Colours

Looking around the garden today there are bursts of lovely spring colours.
This shot comprises of polyanthus in the foreground with grape hyacinths, forgetmenots & some kind of mini flowering nettle in pink with the rhubarb as the backdrop. The medley is interspersed with chives & a particularly invasive ornamental grass which seems to pop up everywhere & I am continually pulling it up. To the left of the shot you can see a yellow blob which is one of our forsythias which is showing well this year.

Cool day today but warm enough to tackle a couple of jobs in the garden. Pinched some sharp sand from Peter which I mixed with compost & grass seed to level up some areas of the lawn. Also cut off a bump in the lawn which I have tripped over everytime I mow....if anything its a bit low now !

Am returning to the garden in a mo to remove a few plants in an area I am intending to turf in the near future. My new area of lawn which I seeded last week shows no sign of germination - need the ground to warm up a bit more & then it will soon be away.

I have to return to work tomorrow for a few days before my final redundancy day which will now be 2 August 2013. Hope to be on garden leave from next Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.