stellarossa

By stellarossa

Downtown Toronto on a Friday Night

The training day went okay, although for the first time ever someone brought a shot gun to a training on the protection of civilian in war. Thankfully it was not needed!

Once we'd packed up I finally escaped to Toronto and was taken out for dinner by the lovely Robyn who introduced me to Canadian comfort food at Bannock. We had a lovely Riesling from Niagara Falls and she introduced me to Poutine which is a strange combination of french fries mixed with dairy curd and hot chicken gravy. I'm not quite sure what I make of it... very odd, a bit like a cross between cheesy chips and chips in gravy... the kind of thing I'd eat on the way home from a long night clubbing about 20 years ago. Canadians are clearly very proud of their poutine, but for me the maple smoked salmon was more appealing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.